Always a fulltime mother.

I had the luxury to be able to stay at home for a few months after my son was born. I’m calling it a luxury because I realise a lot of mothers don’t have that option due to being a single parent or the fact that they need both incomes to make it work. I started working when my son was about 7 months old. I worked 5 days a week, for about 4-6 hours a day. Even then, I didn’t miss a thing though!

600528_591434364220296_652330818_n

I was home for his fist words, his first steps, etc. All the time I wasn’t at work, was spent with my son. I believe that because I as a mother spent time away from my child, working or attending college, the time we do actually spent together is precious. I personally took it in more. I was more relaxed as well. By combinding motherhood with being the woman that I am, I was a better mother. And still am.

When my son was 1 year old, I decided to go back to school. My family took care of him while I was at work or my internship. Some days were long though, they still are sometimes. It’s about finding a balance that works for both you and your child. There were days I was away from home for 12-14 hours, including traveling. Having some quality time with my child makes it even more special.

My son grew up not knowing better than his mother working or going to school. And I actually applaud that. Just as I applaud mothers who stay at home for their children too! But for me, it was important to work. And for my son to see his mother work. I brought him with me to my work and to my school, so he could actually see what I do and to meet the people around me. He doesn’t know any better. We spend weekends having as much fun together as we can, along with his father. We spend nights at hotel, go to amusement parks, zoo’s, having a picknick, going out to dinner or we simply take long walks in the woods. I don’t see it as making up for lost time though. It’s a balance. A balance that works for us.

Love.

Finding-Balance-as-a-mother.jpg

 

Leave a Reply

