Christmas spirit.

It’s almost Christmas. The time we spend with loved ones. The time we enjoy hot chocolate milk, family diners and exhange presents. And if we get really blessed, we get to enjoy snowball fights. But also the time to give, to pay it forward by helping those in need.

Why can’t we have this positive attitude all year?

tumblr_nzgwllvmnR1ufg2bjo1_500.gif

I personally LOVE Christmas. The smells, the lights, the food.. December can’t come soon enough! It has a certain flair to it. A feeling. One that most of us can relate to. The preperations start weeks ahead. So does the excitement.

What has changed my perception of Christmas is the fact hat I’m a mother. It no longer matters to me what I receive but more about if my son is having a good time. It now revolves around the creation of memories. Breakfast in bed, playing games, making Christmas dessert together.. those are the things I love to do now.

One of the things I personally love, and am teaching my son, is the importance of giving and sharing the love. We made several boxes filled with food and drinks for families that are struggling these days. Parents who can’t afford a fancy dinner or even provide Christmas cookies for their children. I feel extremely blessed that I was able to help them. I will spend the day after Christmas working an extra shift at work. There will be some festivities for my clients and they could use a ‘familiar’ face. Someone who knows them, what they love and what they need.

I encourage others to not only spend this holiday with loved ones, but to also pay it forward. Look into what your community needs. Help a stranger out with food or time. Spread the love! And keep it up, even when it’s January 1st.

“May the spirit of Christmas bring you peace, the gladness of Christmas bring you hope and the warmth of Christmas grant you love.”

Leave a Reply

